GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying a motorcycle.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a motorcycle which gives me income to buy food.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a goat @3,000KES, paid 3,000KES for school fees, and paid 2,000KES. The remaining 2,000KES was spent on groceries.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay for a piece of land, and pay school fees for my children in secondary school.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to pay school fee for my children in high school, we are also planning to build a house and buy some livestock. I will also buy some beddings for my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have two sheep's, I have bought a piece of land where I am planning to go and build.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have children who are in school and paying school fees is a problem. We have no home and my family is big the house is to small for us all.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I sell all my chapatis and am able to make money.