chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Irene's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was in that, nowadays I am able to take decent meals, three times a day. Previously, we could stay without buying food for three or more days due to lack of money but today we have a different story to tell. We can easily afford to eat three meals on a daily basis. The fact that I used the previous transfers to start a business has really helped in buying food and other amenities. I am healthier and stronger to even operate my business.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I do not have any new goals in the next four months because I want to focus on the new business which I have started recently. I am afraid that if I start a new project this new one might collapse because at some point I might be overwhelmed trying to chase both dreams.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am ambitious and happy. The fact that I get money every month from GiveDirectly has given me a chance to look at life in a different way. In the last four months, I was able to start up a business. This has really changed my life because I no longer depend on my guardian to provide everything that I lack. I am able to buy whatever I want. Asking my aunt to chip in most of the time was like adding her a burden into what she had already but I had no choice because I was also still in school and there was nothing much I could have done to cater for my needs. I am self-empowered and I thank GiveDirectly very much because I am also helping my guardian to take care of the household needs.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I do not expect my life to change very much in the next six months because I still want to establish my business which I started recently. I have decided to save my monthly transfers for the coming months hoping to boost my business because I know that this is what will help me to achieve my goals.
 
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
4560 KES ($45 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Purchasing basic items that I had earned for had been a problem leave alone the private ones that I needed as a girl. My aunt could chip in but this could be after two years to even think of buying me clothes. Right now I have seen a big difference in my daily life since I started receiving payments from GiveDirectly in that, I am able to take care of my needs easily.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I expect my life to change in the next six months in that, I will have bought items in readiness for joining college which is what I want to achieve first.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been if I never received the transfer in that, the hopes of going to college could have diminished. I have already used the previous transfers to do a lot of things in preparation for joining college probably next year and one of them is adding stalk to the business that I am currently operating so as to get enough money by the end of the year for this long-awaited goal.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to plant groundnut which most of the people are not growing in our area and this simply means I will have more advantage in terms of ready market. I plan to use the money to take care of my needs in college.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face is lack of money to pay my college school fees. My parents are peasant farmers and low income earners, so raising funds to pay my school fees is a challenge.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in evening when I am done with my daily household chores and I find time to sit with family members as we share a meal.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees. I am a college student and its my aunt who pays my school fees, so I will relieve her from the school fees burden.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is studying and finishing high school despite school fees challenge.