GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Miriam's Profile
Miriam's family
Miriam
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
78
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Miriam's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 40,000KES on buying 2 oxen for ploughing my piece of land. i also bought cement and sand, and cemented the floor and walls of my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I can now prepar my piece of land for cultivation without worrying about money.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I added the token transfer(10000 KES) to my savings and bought a cow for 16000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am intending to cement my house and buy a cow with the upcoming lumpsum transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer on buying furniture and a mattress. I also plan to buy oxen plough. I will use it for ploughing and also hire it to other villagers at a fee.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have managed to build iron roofed house from my little savings. I am proud of it.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when I lost all my children through death. I am now left with orphans to take care of and its a hard task for me considering my age.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I manage to get food for my grandchildren.