chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Laurence's Profile
Laurence's family
Laurence
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other (works for others)
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Laurence's next check-in.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to venture into motorcycle business. I will use my savings to buy two motorcycles. I will operate this business in my rural home since many people have not ventured in to business and thus it will not be competitive. This will generate more income to meet my basic needs and pay school fees for my siblings.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that I have managed to save my transfers. In the past, the money I got from the casual jobs was little and I could only use to buy food. I will use these savings to buy motorcycle and venture into motorcycle business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I saved my most recent transfer in my bank account. Since I received my transfers from Give Directly, I have been saving all my monthly transfers since I am planning to buy two motorcycles and venture in to motorcycle riding business. I did a driving course but currently I have not been employed so I will use my savings to buy the motorcycles and operate one of them and also employ somebody else to ride the other motorcycle. This will generate more income to meet my basic needs and pay school fees for my siblings.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was so happy when I received my transfer since during enrollment I did not believe that I will get the money. Many organisations have been coming to our groups, make promises but they do not deliver them. It was my joy to receive the transfers since at that moment I did not have any source of income.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize like that because first, I would like to buy a motorcycle so that I can use it as a transportation machine and get income. I wanted to start boda boda business so that I can have more income and be able to buy a piece of land and build my own house. I want to stop the issue of paying rent and have my own home and even rent a room out to add to my income. Secondly, this is in relation to the first priority once I have a stable income I want to buy a piece of land and build a house. Lastly, I will use part of this money for food and other household needs so that I can channel other resources to a different activity.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is gang/crime because within mathare many have died due to crime and I wouldn't want to waste my life. Most youths are always idle and that is why they engage themselves into criminal activity. Secondly, am concerned about achieving my ambitions in life. I don't want to fail as the breadwinner in my family, I want to be able to provide to my family their needs and give them the best. If I don't achieve my dream them I won't be able to provide to them. Lastly, am concerned about the life my children will live. I don't want them to have the kind of life I did. I want them to have a good education and bright future and be successful in life.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to have my own home and be able to provide for my children with all their needs. I want to become a successful business man especially in life of transportation. I want to invest more so that my family can have all they need and have a good future with better education.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In the morning once I wake up I prepare myself as early as 5am then go to work up-to 11pm at night. My meals I take at my work place. Once am back to the house I just go bed. During my free time I go have chats with my friends. I always have one day off in a week but most of my time I am at work.