chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kanze's Profile
Kanze's family
Kanze
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($483 USD)
access_time 11 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Because of the transfer I received from GiveDirecly, I have fewer worries and stress about being able to provide food, clothing and education for my children. I sell charcoal to earn a living while my husband transports passengers on a motorbike. When he was employed by someone else, our income would be KES 3,000 a week. This amount was not enough to cater for our living expenses. We especially worried about where we would get money to educate our three children. With the transfer that we received, we purchased a motorbike and he can now earn more money. Our income has increased to KES 4,000 on a good day, and we can meet our family's needs. We also completed the construction of a new, spacious house. Before, we lived in one that was small and run-down. We are very grateful to GiveDirecly.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirecly has done well by sending us unconditional cash transfers that have improved our lives a great deal. We have set up businesses, built decent houses and fed our families. There isn't anything that GiveDirecly has not done well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The lack of a stable source of income has been a major challenge in my family, which has caused my husband and me a lot of stress. Until recently, he used to ferry passengers for his employer to earn a living, and I sold charcoal. Our income would only be KES 3,000 a week. This money was not enough to cater for our living expenses including food, clothing and school fees for our family of five. We were happy to receive this transfer from GiveDirecly which enabled us to purchase a motorbike worth KES 40,000. My husband now earns money by ferrying passengers and can earn KES 4,000 a day. Furthermore, we spent KES 13,150 on completing the construction of our new house. My family now lives in a spacious, modern house, as opposed to the previous one which was rundown.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($508 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at my compound washing clothes when my mobile started ringing loudly. I opted to stop the task I was handling and concentrated on the message notification. Since I am illiterate, I asked my son to check its content. I was super excited after telling me that it was an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. I had patiently been waiting for this money and I even thought it was a scam during the enrolment process.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now a proud owner of a decent house that can accommodate all my family members. Back in the day, it was so tough because our house was very small and its condition was not pleasing at all. One could clearly see everything that was going in the house from outside. Besides, my spouse being the family's breadwinner he used to strain a lot but eventually, he couldn't make ends meet most of the days. In a day a good day, he could earn KES 200 which was too little even for the family's daily bread leave alone renovating the house. Therefore we had to squeeze ourselves into the small house since we had no alternative. However, I have always been hopeful that my life would change no matter how many years it would take. Luckily enough GiveDirectly answered my prayer by supporting my household financially. I am now a proud mother because we are sleeping in a decent shelter with no more worries about security and even the heavy downpours.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Since I have been longing to sleep in a better shelter, I spent a larger fraction of the first transfer on buying building materials such as pieces of iron sheets, building poles, nails, and timber. I had intended to construct a new house becasue the initial one was small and in critical condition. Also, I paid school fees for my son in advance to avoid being sent home regularly due to the fees arrears. With the little that had remained, I bought foodstuffs for my family and we are grateful as a family becasue we no longer skip meals like before. Besides we have been taking a variety of meals like rice, beans, meat among others.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means constructing a new iron-roofed house for my family. This is because the one I currently have is leaking and it's grass-thatched. I have wished to have a new one but due to the financial crisis, this has never been possible for me. I, therefore, plan to spend $300 on my first transfer to ensure my new house is complete. I will also use the remaining amount of the first disbursement to buy a modern bed and a mattress because as of now, we sleep on the flow using rugged sacks. On the other hand, I intend to buy 10 goats that will act as my long-term investment project. This will cost me utmost $300 for the second transfer and the remaining amount will cater for food and other basic needs like buying clothes and paying school fees for my son.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Since my work of charcoal burning is very strenuous, it requires me to be at the bush in the morning and some evening hours when it is cool. This means the only time that I rest most is in the afternoon, a moment when I get re-energized most because I relax and eat my lunch. Therefore, the afternoon becomes the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Remaining as a housewife in our village equates to sleeping hungry for a few days, as one waits for the husband to provide from the casual jobs. Because of this reason, I opted for charcoal burning as my source of income. This job is very tiresome and equally low-paying, but since I have no option, I am forced to doing it to earn a living. Therefore, the lack of a decent job is the biggest hardship that I have ever faced in my life.