chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Gideon's Profile
Gideon's family
Gideon
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Regular labour
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time 8 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has transformed a lot because initially I was employed by someone else but right now I am proud to say that I am self employed through the motorbike business operations. There is nothing satisfying and gratifying as being self-employed. Were it not for the transfers from Give Directly, I do not think I would have been self-employed to date.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My goal right now is to save as much as I can going into the future so as to be able to buy another motorbike. Getting a new motorbike will ensure that my finances grow in bounds thereby giving me more financial freedom and financial ability to take care of other financial needs in the family. I will also be able to create employment opportunities for young youths who will be willing to take up the job and earn a living out of the business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used to work as a motorcycle rider where I had been employed for the last three to four years but then I did not like the story of being employed so I opted to call it a day and dropped out of the job. I finally bought my own motorcycle using the cash transfers that I received from Give Directly which I have been using to ferry passengers at a small fee. The total cost of the motorbike was approximately 70000 KES. The business I could say is lucrative and self-sustaining because ever since I started the motorbike operation I have never lacked. Moreover, the amount of money that I have been making on a daily basis has also increased significantly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($368 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is greater unlike before. At the moment I am self-employed through the motorbike that I bought through the transfers. Before I used to be employed in the motorcycle and the earnings was too little. We had to forego so many things as a family. At the moment I earn over KES 1000 daily which is enough to meet my family's daily needs. I even have some extra which I save through table banking.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Earlier on before receiving the transfers, I had no mindset of investing in my rural home. My focus then was the urban life including paying all the bills since I could not afford big investments. After receiving the transfers I realized that I could do farming and get lots of money out of it. I have already planted two acres of vegetables and in the next two to three months they will have matured. I am planning to transport to a market here in town and sell them at a higher price. If all goes well I might also relocate my family to my rural home something that I had not thought of. The transfer was an eye-opener to me, my focus at the moment is on self-employment, which is possible through the motorbike that I bought and farming back at home.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the first transfer on buying goats at KES 10,000, I bought a motorcycle on loan and made the first payment of KES 20,000 and the rest went towards buying my mothers households goods, fare home and other investments that I made with the transfer Include using KES 30,000 to lease the land back in my rural home . This money went towards tilling, labour and buying of seeds for the various vegetables that I have already planted.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My initial plan was to purchase my own motorcycle for the transport business, but this was not possible because the money was to be sent in instalments, that is why I settled for the shoe business. I will try as much as possible to save some money from the shoe business which I will combine to the next two transfers and purchase my own motorcycle. Having my own motorcycle will make the transport business more bearable as I will be working on my own terms and there will be no sharing of profits.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I was previously employed as a motorcycle taxi driver. This job was quite risky yet it did not give much money because I had to give almost half of my daily income to the motorcycle owner which left me with little money that could not take care of my family needs. With my own business now, I am able to plan and budget with the profits that I make and I can easily take care of my needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used part of the money to upgrade my life by purchasing some household items such a television and a gas cooker. I then used the rest of it to start my own business. I settled on a shoe business because it is something I had done a year ago but it collapsed due to poor planning. I know it will do well because I am wiser now and more responsible.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was excited the money had come but did not want anyone in my house to know, so I had to keep my excitement to myself. If my wife had seen the message, she would have made some monetary requests which I did not want to fund at that particular moment because I had planned for this money.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I will spend my transfers to expand my business in selling men's second hand shoes. I did this business for about one year before I got employed as a motorcycle rider. I will go back to this business and increase stock as I get a stall/shop where I can sell the shoes. Secondly, I will purchase household goods for my house such as a TV and seats. Finally, I will assist my mother with any needs she might have back in my rural home.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is dying prematurely and failing to achieve my dreams and ambitions. I fear a situation where I will not be able to leave a legacy. I want to know that I was relevant and significant in this world and especially to my family. I will confirm that if I am able achieve my ambitions before my death. Secondly, I am concerned about getting sick. Whenever I am sick, I am unable to support myself and to go to work. I become helpless and I have to depend on other people for a my sustainance. Finally, I am concerned about failing to meet my daily needs. I have a family that depends on me and looks up to me. If I cannot support my family then I will feel like a failure.
What are your greatest ambitions?
I love and enjoy activities to do with performing arts and specifically in rapping and singing. I see myself as a well known and a celebrated rap artist; making good money out of my songs and with good messages that can also impact lives. I do party songs, rap songs and some romantic songs.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
My usual days end or begin at 5:00am in the morning, where I arrive home from a hectic night at work. I work as a motorcycle rider from 9:00pm in the night, up to 5:00am in the morning. This makes me spend my days asleep to recover from the previous hectic night. I transport both goods and passengers via motorcycle for my boss, who pays me on commission. I usually get home in the morning at 5:00am and then I freshen up before going to sleep for about 10 hours, up to around 4:00pm or 5:00pm in the evening. I then wake up to freshen up again, have a meal and then prepare for work at night. In my free time I enjoy to rap and sing, write rhymes, spend time with friends, and swimming.