GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
From my third transfer, I bought cement at 9,020 KEs, spent 5,000 KES to pay laborers building my house, spent 5,000 KES to pay school fees, bought 2 sacks of maize at 6,000 KES, bought a mattress at 5,000 KES, bought a table at 3,000 KES, gave my father 3,000 KEs for his medical bills, bought clothes and other household expenditures at 5,000 KES, spent 4,000 KES to pay back debt I owed, spent 2,000 KES for my medical bills and the remaining 48 KES I spent to buy food for my family.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to buy water tank and build a separate kitchen.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in that I now live in a clean place, I have managed to pay school fees and build a bigger house
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used to stay in a small house so i bought 13 iron sheets at 8400KES which i used to expand my house,I bought timber 4800KES. I bought seats at 8500KES, bought a new door at 4800KES. Being that i have as children school i bought school effects which took 8000KES including school fees. My dad was hospitalized so i paid hospital bill for 3000KES. The remaining 12000KES i have been using to buy food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
eeeeiii...yawa..You have helped me.. since i started receiving this money my children have never stayed away from school and i have seats in my house which i never use to have. I am very grateful.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 3,000KES school fees, and bought a bed @5,000KES, and spent 600KES on buying school shoes for the children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy iron sheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house, pay school fees for my children, and buy household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my daughter who is in high school and has fees problem. Secondly l would wish to expand my house because it is very small to comfortable accommodate me with my family. l would also wish to buy a cow to act as security incase of any emergency. Finally l would like buy household items for my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to take my daughter to high school who is now in form two.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of money to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day in the evening after working for people in their farm and earning some money to buy food for my family.