chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Raphael's Profile
Raphael's family
Raphael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been bacause I am getting ample food supply for my family since I was able to repair my posho mill and is working well. At the moment, l am able to meet the needs of my family without struggling through the income that I get from my mill. In addition, my wife doesn't need to seek casual labor like before in order to assist me in raising my family. I also purchased a solar and a TV which relives me from the daily stresses and my kids enjoy watching after school. Furthermore, they are able to do their home work well after school with the solar lights.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly did well for sending the nonrefundable cash transfer which has improved our lives. Personally, I was able to start livestock rearing and constructed a toilet something that has changed my life for the better.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $100 to repair my posho mill which had a hard start problem and required a spare part. Previously, I had to close it because of this technical issue. I also spent $150 to construct a toilet since I was using the bush which was risky at night and also on our health due to poor sanitation. In addition, I used $160 to purchase a local dairy cow which will give me a constant supply of milk to my family. Before, I had to purchase them every day which is relatively costly. The remaining amount I used it to buy enough food for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 12 noon I was from my daily hustle as usual then my phone started vibrating continuously. This was an indication of a new message. I decided to check the content of the text, only to realize it was from GiveDirectly informing me they had sent me my first transfers. I felt so happy because I was so sure that my life would change positively.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now a proud owner of dairy cows and a goat. I have been yearning to keep them in my compound but I could not afford them. Therefore for all that long I have been admiring my neighbors and promised myself to own some in the near future. Currently, I am getting plenty of milk and my children are now healthy. Before the coming of GiveDirectly, I used to buy the milk from friends which sometimes I could not afford because it was relatively expensive. I am now hopeful and happier because I am even planning to sell the remaining liters to my neighbors and generate an income. I am certain that this will enable me to pay school fees for my children without straining.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a larger portion of my first transfer to buy two dairy cows and goats at a total of KES 35000. It has been my desire to keep livestock for quite a long time but I could not afford beacsu4e they were too expensive. I also bought some iron sheets, bags of cement, sand, building poles, and timber. This was for the construction of a new house since the previous one was in poor condition and small. I later paid the mason KES 5000 as his labor charge. With the remaining amount of money, I bought enough foodstuffs for my family and some household items.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means purchasing a pair of oxen and a plough to scale up farming. This has been my ambition for long because I depend on subsistence farming besides casual jobs. My desire is to achieve food security since food is a very essential need for human life. Currently I farm an acre and a half that produce food which lasts for 3 months. This means I have to buy from shops for the rest of the year.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning. My mind is always relaxed at this time before I engage in any activity.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial constraint as a result of an unstable source of income is my biggest hardship. This has made our life very difficult in terms of accessing basic needs like food. Being a casual labourer, we live from hand to mouth thus I cannot even account for my earnings. This has even resulted to lack of stable peace in my family because I always feel I have failed as a father.