chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Emilly's Profile
Emilly's family
Emilly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emilly's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 15000 KES of my first lumpsum payment on a bull,11000 KES on a couch, 3000 KES on a mattress, 3000 KES on a solar panel, 750 KES on a blanket, 700 KES on a water tank, 3000 KES on a sack of maize, 700 KES on 4 sufurias, 250 KES on a dozen of cups, then I paid my debt using 3500 KES and I spent the remaining 9100 KES on food and clothing for my household members.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am having a big difference in my daily life since I had a problem plowing my farms due to lack of an oxen but thanks to GD that now I have my own bull that facilitates my farming operations and this has boosted my output.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the transfer to purchase household items.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my bride price because my spouse died before doing so. I'm also planning to establish my own home with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to pay dowry to my parents since my husband died without paying dowry to my parents. Secondly l would wish to pay household items. I would also like to open up a business to generate income to support my family. Finally l would like to build a new home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have worked hard to up bring my children after the death of my husband.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of source to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part the day is when l have received money from my relatives