chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 25 iron sheets at 17,500 KES, nails at 6,000 KES, 40 wall poles at 9,000 KES, 25 roofing poles at 5,000 KES, am still having 10,000 KES in my Mpesa account which I'll use to pay labour charge and I used the rest on food for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer begging and working on other people's farms to get an income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 8,000 KES to pay my daughter in high school fee. I also purchased some foodstuffs with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because its too small. I'm also planning to cement both walls and floor of the house because at the moment its earth.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family. I also plan on paying school fees for my daughter who is in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having toiled in my farm after my spouse passed away and managed to educate my children, in fact one of my sons is now married.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself. I need to till my farm but I have no oxen or a ploughing machine and if I am unable to hire these from someone I might not be able to cultivate my farm.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up, because I can thank the Lord for blessing me and granting me life.