chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Peter's Profile
Peter's family
Peter
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($530 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am now the proud owner of a house. I bought building materials i.e iron sheets, nails, timber and poles to use in building a new house. Previously, I did not have a house and this saw me sleep in my own parent's kitchen. My agemates had built their own houses but I did not have one due to meagre income I got from casual work that only bought food for my family on a daily basis. I did not have any savings plans in place to see the construction of a new house.GiveDirectly really saved from shame from mockery in my society.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I never thought GiveDirectly would fulfil their promise of sending us the transfers in our village. They have enabled me in many ways. The one that stood out was the fact that I bought building materials like steel doors and windows, iron sheets, nails, timber and poles to build a new house as I did not have a house. Now my family can stay in a better house and does not have to go asking for a place to stay. GiveDIrectly does everything well and I cannot say there is anyone who can give me the type of gift I received from them.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I had bought building materials using the first transfer so I used the second transfer to buy steel doors and windows that I installed in the unfinished house I had built beforehand. Now, my home has enhanced security as I installed the doors and windows which are so strong. I bought sofa seats to beautify my house. I also bought and installed a solar panel and a television set that I use for home entertainment. I used it to lease a piece of land to plant more maize to boost my farm produce which we can consume and sell when we get surplus. This saw my farming rising to another level.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($546 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to purchase these building materials that I never imagined it could come that soon.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received money from GiveDirectly, I was so happy. I have never imagined of handling such kind of money in my life ever since I was born.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying building materials that I am planning to use to build a new better house for my family. I also spent some of the amounts to purchase a solar panel, a television set for my family viewing and lighting. I used to watch TV from a neighbour's house and the remaining on food.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I shall have great sense of ownership since will be able to build a new house and marry. It has not been easy for me to think of marrying without any cows to pay as dowrey.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest monent is usually in the evening as I take a break to rest from the heavy days work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I have to work in peoples farms to earn a living. Recently during the long rains farms got flooded for many weeks and I would end up having no one to hire me in the farms and could not even buy food. It was during that time that I got admitted for malaria where I almost lost my life, I am still working in the farm of the person who paid my hospital bill.