GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Tom's Profile
Tom's family
Tom
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
49
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($478 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I invested part of the money in my business by buying more materials required for the job then used the rest of the money start a business for my wife and paid her dowry.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I invested half of my second transfer on my quarry business and spent the remaining money in my mother in -law funeral arrangement and buying food stuff for my household.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is being able to provide for my family efficiently because my quarry business is doing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on a funeral worth 3000 KES, bought food worth 4000 KES and bought business materials worth 3000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to expand my business and buy cattle with my upcoming transfer
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to invest in my quarrying site by hiring miners. This will grow the capital base and increase our income opportunities.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have managed to get married and have children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I don't have a dependable source of income that can enable me support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am having dinner with my family.