chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nyevu's Profile
Nyevu's family
Nyevu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
69
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the transfer in that I living a comfortable life. Through the transfer, I was able to improve the condition of my house by constructing an additional room and purchase proper beddings. Previously, I was living in a small house and using traditional bed which was not comfortable to sleep on. In addition, I am now owning a piece of land after acquiring an acre with my transfer. I am planning to start clearing it for farming purposes, this will assure me of food security for the family. Furthermore, I was able to start livestock rearing using my transfer, a future investment for the family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly did well for fulfilling the promise of sending cash aid to the poor households in the society. In addition, they provide us with enough training before sending out the cash directly to our phones.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I have always wished to own a piece of land for farming but due to financial instability I was not able to achieve my desire. This is because the place I used to farm earlier was at a lower place where my crops used to be carried away by running water. After receiving my transfer, I prioritize purchasing an acre piece of land which cost $350. I also bought one local dairy cow for $130 it will provide me with steady milk supply for the family. In addition, I am planning to use the male offspring when it reproduce as oxen for ploughing my farm. The remaining amount assisted me in purchasing enough food for the family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($510 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 12noon, I was from the nearby market place when I had the good news that my neighbours have received their transfer. I asked my daughter in-law to confirm the messages in my phone and indeed I found out that I had received my transfer. I was overwhelmed with Joy when I realised that I received the transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is owning a mattress and bed because my beddings were not in good condition which results into constant backache making me unable to perform my daily activities well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my transfer on purchasing building poles and stones to improve status of my house by adding another one room because the one I had was small. I also purchased bed and mattress to replace my traditional bed and old sacks which were not comfortable and always brought me backache. This lowered my self-esteem because whenever I received visitor I use to sleep on the floor. I spent the remaining amount to educate my 3 grandchildren and purchased enough food for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My house is not in a good condition on the floor and also the space is small. I have desired to have it repaired and also construct an extra one room for my granddaughter but all this has been in vain and this means sharing one room and bed. My plan once I receive my money is to floor my house into a smooth finish and also reinforce it using hardcore to the sides plus extending one room. This means spending utmost 35000 shillings on my first transfer. On the other hand, I also plan to spend 15000 shillings to buy a modern bed and a mattress to replace the old ones that are rugged. The remaining proportion will help me to buy 10 goats at 3000 shillings each and the other amount to sort out my other basic needs like food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The afternoon is the happiest part of my day because I usually find myself more relaxed after having my lunch meal. Unlike in the morning when I am required to fetch water at a distance of 10 kilometers from my home, something that drains my energy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
At the age of 69 years, I am still forced to do charcoal work to get food that I can share with my grandchildren. This is so because my husband is old and can not actively engage in income-generating activities and the grandson is not mentally stable. Therefore, financial instability is the biggest hardship that I have ever faced in my life.