<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to buy cow-bull at 22000 kshs, furniture at 10500 kshs, 1 sack of maize at 2000 kshs the remaining a mount l spend to buy foodstuffs in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l will no-longer use my own hand to cultivate my farm because l now have the cow, l am also eating well with my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I was ailing and I had to pay 5,000 KSH for my hospital bill, I also paid 3,000 KSH school fees for my daughter.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarged my house and build the kitchen.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to purchase bricks, Iron sheets, cement and expand my house because it's small and I have a large family. I am planning to purchase a bull for ploughing and buy foodstuffs such as maize. I also plan to purchase household furniture.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am a hard working woman and I have managed to provide basic household commodities for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is lack of sufficient resources to comfortably meet the needs of my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live.