GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Consolata's Profile
Consolata's family
Consolata
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Consolata's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 4,000 KES for college hostel for my child, bought 34 iron sheets at 18,600 KES, roofing poles at 5,000 KES, wall poles at 8,000 KES, nails at 2,400 KES as materials for construction of my house. I also bought a mattress at 4,000 KES and I have saved 7,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My spouse passed on some years back and I did not foresee myself owning a better house, the one I was living in was terribly dilapidated but now am seeing myself going to live in a better house and am not afraid of my house collapsing on me.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees, rented a piece of land for farming with 3,000KES, and the remaining 2,000KES on household expenditure.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy 30 sheets of ironsheet, and timber for building sn iron roofed house. i also plan to spend 4,000KES on buying a cupboard.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees, build a new house. I also plan to rent land for farming, the only piece of land I own is where am living currently. I can also buy goats and sheep to keep as assets.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is raising my children especially after the death of my husband. Three of my eldest children have completed form four. Although none of them made it to college due to financial constraints, I still feel proud of where they are now.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face now is lack of a sustainable income source.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when am done doing my chores and relaxing with friends and neighbors who come to visit.