chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Esther's Profile
Esther's family
Esther
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Esther's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets 12,600 KES, nails at 260 KES, 55 wall and roofing poles 12,450 KES, paid 3,500 KES transportation, 11,500 KES labour charge, 800 KES on food for the workers, bought solar lamp at 3,000 KES then one roll of barbed wire at 4,500 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am feeling because my house is now very spacious.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying 5 iron sheets.I also bought maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new house because my house is very small and can not comfortably accommodate my family. Secondly l would wish to build a house for my children to sleep in. Lastly I would like to buy a cow for milking.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to buy a fence though I have not manged to fence my compound because of lack of money.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when working in my tomatoes farm.