GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elija's Profile
Elija's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Elija's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought three cows at 36,000 KES, used 13,000 KES to start a stone breaking business then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now able to make my own income from the stone business.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two goats (5600), Clothes (3000) and food (1300).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy heifers, build a new house and pay school fees.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on starting a small business of selling food stuff in a kiosk (shop), I will spend part of the transfer on buying two bulls that I can use in ploughing my farm,I will also spend part of the transfer on repairing my house as currently it has been damaged by termites,I will also expand my business of stone quarrying as I will hire people to work for me and the remaining amount I will spend on paying school fees for my children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I managed to save some cash through my job of stone quarrying which enabled me to buy some cows that I took to my wife's home as dowry.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is not very stable as at times when I go out to do stone quarrying, I come back home without any cash in the evening and this makes me not to afford certain items like rood for my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm in the morning and plough it,this makes me happy as whatever I have planted will benefit me and my family when the crops are ready for harvest.