GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a cow at 15000 KES.I also bought a steel door at 6500 KES,2 steel windows at 5000,cushions at 2800 KES and plastered my house's floor.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of sterting a clothes business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if never received the transfer because I have a neat and strong house now.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 15 iron sheets at 10,000 KES, roofing poles at 4,500 KES, wall poles at 5,000 KES, nails at 2,500 KES,and paid for labour at 4,000 KES to have my house constructed. I also bought a bed at 4,000 KES, a mattress at 3,500 KES, a bag of dry maize at 2,600 KES and paid school levies for 2,500 KES. I also had medical expenses of 3,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now live in a much better house where am not being rained on and my property is safe. I used to constantly repair the walls of my old house and this took much of my time from engaging in income generating activities.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used most of the transfer to furnish my house. I also paid fees to my 5 children in primary school.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house. My current house is too old and ever worried when raining because it can go down any time. I'm also planning to invest the rest in second hand clothes.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to set up a business that will support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have managed to buy a few household items, since my husband passed away and am taking care of my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that I am all alone and taking care of my needs is very difficult. I have no proper job to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is the morning when I see my children off to school.