chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dama's Profile
Dama's family
Dama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Forestry (e.g rubber tapping)
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have wished to start livestock rearing but I was not able to fulfil desire due to lack of capital. I am a happy livestock farmer with a flock of 15 goats after 3 goats gave birth. Also, my husband is a motorbike driver and earns income for the family something that has improved out life status.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly had done well for sending us unconditional cash transfers which has boost the standard of every household in my community.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my second transfer to boost my livestock rearing by purchasing 6 more goats in total I have 12 goats and 3 have already give birth. I had started it with my first transfer. In addition, I purchased a second-hand motorbike for my husband to start a motorbike taxi. The remaining amount assist me in paying the medical bill because I had given birth a day before receiving my transfer. Lastly, I purchase some food for the family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around seven in the morning when I was heading to the farm then I saw my neighbors dancing and celebrating mentioning GiveDirectly. Which was indicating that was good news. I decided to check my phone only to realize that I had received my first transfers. I was overwhelmed with joy and even joined the rest in celebrating.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now have goats that I a currently keeping on my homestead. It has been my desire for so many years but I could not afford it since they were too expensive. With the goats, I am certain that they will multiply within a short period of time hence making me achieve a lot. Currently, some have started reproducing and my plan is to sell the matured offspring and make it a potential business which I am sure will change my life greatly. I am optimistic the little that I will be earning will make me achieve some other goals ie starting new businesses. Also, I will no longer strain in meeting my family's needs as I used to do back in the days.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some livestock which includes five goats. I have been longing to keep them for quite a long time but I could not afford them because they were too co costly. Also, I gave KES 15000 of the cash transfer to my spouse to clear my dowery. I have been married for so many years but my spouse never cleared the dowry simply because of our poverty life. This was so embarrassing so after receiving my first transfer we had to settle it and we are now living peacefully. With the remaining amount of money, I bought enough foodstuffs and decent clothes for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have yearned to purchase a motorbike so that I can use it for business, but this dream has never arisen due financial arrears. I am planning to spend 102,000 shillings to purchase a bajaj boxer motorbike, I will be using it to carry passengers and languages and I will be earning money from it. In a day I can earn at least 300 shillings. This amount is enough to sustain my family's needs because in a day they use 200 shillings. I will be saving the extra amount so that I educate my children who are still in the lower classes. Other than that, I will use the amount remaining to renovate my house which is leaking durinrainyin season."
What is the happiest part of your day?
"Evening becomes my happiest part of the day. When I come from work with something to put on table makes me happy."
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
"Lack of a good source of capital becomes my biggest challenge. I am a charcoal vendor this job is tiresome and takes a lot of time for a sack to be ready. It is not guaranteed that you will get someone to purchase them, because always everyone does the same job in our community."