chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Edward's Profile
Edward's family
Edward
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Edward's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built semi-permanent house of 25 iron sheets at total cost 42250 KES, I spent 2750 KES on a sack of maize and I saved the remaining 5000 KES. That is how I spent my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I was homeless, I used to seek for refuge at my brother's house where I never had authority and privacy, however, I am now living according to my long awaited desires; full privacy and authority in my personal house the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token on a mattress (3000), iron sheets (3250), a bag of maize (2000) and food (500).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house and open a business with my upcoming lump-sum payment .
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family. If there are significant amount of funds remaining I will start a small business for my wife.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having met a beautiful spouse who has given birth to a boy and is also expecting another baby soon. They are my pride and joy, I could not imagine life without them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, I usually have to hire a motorcycle and this is very expensive, at the end of the day I am usually left with little or no money to take back home.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up, this is because the Lord has blessed me and my family, and we can all praise him.