GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Daniel's Profile
Daniel's family
Daniel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
43
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Daniel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to buy 2 cow at 35000 kshs, l also spent 10000 kshs to pay school fees for my two children in secondary school, l also spent 2000 kshs as a token to my family members, the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l now have my own cows.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying stones ksh 6000, paid school fees ksh 2000 and i small goat 800.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on buying more buldding stones and sand.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails, iron roofing sheets and a steel door which I will use to build a better house for my family. I will also use part of the transfers to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked as a casual worker for many years and after saving my earnings for quite a while, I was able to buy a cow and a ploughing machine. I have also been able to educate two of my children up to secondary school level using money that I got from selling my farm produce.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, I am a casual worker and jobs are difficult to get, quite often I do not have enough money to take adequate care of my family's basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening if I have been able to earn some money during the day, I am usually happy because I am sure my family can have a good, nutritious meal.