chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to buy materials and plastered my house (40000), and bought food (9700).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I had a mud house but now i live in a cemented house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent 7,000 KES to buy sand (lorry) and 2,000 KES to add stock to my business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to start construction of a new house as the old one has a leaking roof and dilapidated walls.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to boost my fishing business,I have been selling fish in small scale but now I am planning to start selling it in large scale.I am planning to cement my house because I am tired of maintaining it through plastering with a mixture of clay and cow dung.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I own three cows,one produces milk for consumption and the other two aids in farming and I am proud because I don't have to worry about buying milk and I'm also sure of getting sufficient farm produce.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I am running at a loss in my business and it has not been easy for me to support my family financially.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning while sweeping my house as I make sure that everything is in the right place.This is because I love relaxing in a neat place.