GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
39
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on 32 iron sheets, building and roofing poles, two wooden doors and paid transportation charges because i have plans to build a bigger house once our grandfather's piece of land is shared/divided between my in-law and I. I also stocked food for my household to ensure constant supply.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My daily life is different because I have access to food on a daily basis.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to buy one sack of corn at 1000 KES for my family consumption, I spent 6000 KES on timber that i will use to repair my house,I spent 3000 KES on the cutting down of the timber.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to use the transfer to buy iron sheets and repair my house.I will use the balance to buy furniture.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a new house as the one we have is very small, I will spend part of the transfer on starting a small business of selling fish and the remaining amount we will spend on paying school fees for our children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to get some cash through our village lending and saving scheme which enabled me to buy a seat for my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that we don't have a stable source of income hence supporting our family in terms of basic needs is a challenge to us.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I prepare breakfast for my family in the morning. This makes me happy as breakfast is very important before they start their day.