chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Wycliffe's Profile
Wycliffe's family
Wycliffe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
house construction
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Wycliffe's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30,000 KES to buy two cows to pay bride price, bought mattress for 5,000 KES, table for 3,000 KES, seats for 8,000 KES and bought a water container for 3,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I bought solar lamps with the first transfer and this has remarkably improved the lighting in my house and having paid the bride price has relieved of the shame I would have if I had not done this.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Bought iron sheets at a total cost of 5,000 KES, I paid debt of 3,000 KES and paid 2,000 KES school fees.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy motor cycle.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying dowry for my wife using the first transfer and the second transfer I will spend on buying a second hand motorcycle that I can use in doing business of carrying goods that I can sell which include fruits like bananas and mangoes. The final transfer I will spend on buying two bulls that I can use in plowing my farm. The remaining amount I will use in clearing school fees debt for my kids.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I proudest of is that I was able to get a wife whom we have kids with and this I see as my achievement.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is very unstable as at times I can get work but some days I go without any work hence this makes my life to be difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and start weaving baskets as a hobby. This makes me happy as it is my passion.