chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Faith's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($508 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received my transfer I was at home relaxing together with my family, when I saw the message I was so excited and happy.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that we now live in a spacious house,unlike before when my 4 children, my husband and I were all squeezed in a one-bedroom house, we can comfortably welcome our neighbours and visitors with no worries about what they say or think about our living status, we are all grateful for the support because it improved our living standards.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used to live in a very small house, I had plans to build myself a spacious house because of the size of my family that was growing but I had no money at hand, when I received my money I bought building material in order to enable me build a new house,
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Being a young couple with dreams of having a family, I have always hoped that I will get funds to build a better house and also to purchase a dairy cow. Receiving this money will not only enable me to build a house but it will also enable me to buy a dairy cow for my children. For the past 1 year, I have been relying on my parents to give me a litre of milk which I sometimes miss. Receiving this money therefore is a big relief to me and my family
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I spend time with my husband narrating the events of the day. As a housewife, my main duties include doing house chores in the morning and then going to weed maize in our garden. Its in the evening when I get time to rest after a long days work that makes me happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of finances as a result of no formal employment is my biggest hardship. I solely rely on my husband to provide for the basic needs of the family. I left school in class seven and so I cannot get any employment opportunities. My husband on the other hand also goes out to look for casual labor that earns him approximately KES 400 - 500 which is not enough for us to meet our basic needs because he doesn't get any job on several occasions.