chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Shellah's Profile
Shellah's family
Shellah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
50
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Shellah's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my first transfer to plaster my house (35000), pay a hospital bill(5000) and bought food, clothes and utensils (10000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in a dusty house but now i have a clean, dust free plastered house. GD has uplifted my living standards
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a larger portion of the transfer to build a pit latrine though I didn't finish it. I also purchased utensils with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement the floor of my house because it is earth and laborious to repair more often. I'm also planning to complete my pit latrine with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfers on the following;Cementing my current house,paying of college fee for my daughter and finally constructing a toilet since we don't have one currently.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to educate my daughter to the point where she has joined college and studying to be a nurse.Their father died when she was still in class five.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face currently is on being able fend for my family single handedly with no proper source of income,My health is also not good since I am on and off the hospital.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when I am able visit my small farm and cultivate hoping for better yields to sustain my family.