chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Zawadi's Profile
Zawadi's family
Zawadi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Zawadi's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($541 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
To me, purchasing the pair of oxen is the biggest difference that this transfer has brought into my life. Having the oxen is the biggest achievement that I feel i have ever experienced in my life. I am assured of this that now I will be able to hire to my neighbours at a small fee and also increase my acreage of cultivated land for better yields.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
On receiving this money, I was happy and full of joy that couldn't be uttered. This was a moment of peace to me and remembering that my troubles were reduced thus I couldn't stop thanking God for using GiveDirectly to come to my village and raise me up from the painful hands of poverty.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to purchasing a pair of oxen since previously I was cultivating just a small acreage of my land and I lacked money to hire oxen from neighbours, which was expensive for me. I am certain that the pair will help me to cultivate my farm fully to produce better yields for food. I also spent the remaining amount on buying three goats to keep. These goats will reproduce in future of which I will be able to educate my children who are still young through them.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means that I will be able to meet my family's basic needs among them: constructing a house for my son, paying school fees and also buying two oxen that will be a source of income when they get hired to plough farms.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up healthy. It is in the morning that I have income from my previous day's work and I am able to meet my family's needs. Fulfilling my family's needs makes me feel very happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of stable source of income.Today I depend on casual jobs that sometimes pay very little. This has made my family miss some basic needs among them: food, school fees and shelter.