<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > George's Profile
George's family
George
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
29
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on George's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on buying a cow,a mattress and a blanket.I also dug a latrine.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a toilet now.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l plaid 6000 for a loan. l also bought school uniform for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to build a house , build a toilet and to pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on purchasing my own motorcycle as the one I am currently using is a hired one. I also plan to spend part of the transfer in finishing the repair of my house and to pay school fees for my children. I plan to build a toil
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that when my parents died I struggled and bought a bicycle that I used in transport business till I managed to build a house. It reached a point I hired a motorcycle that I have used and managed to pay dowry and al
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is due to drought in our area, the harvest has not been good and hunger has increased making it hard to feed my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I leave my house early in the morning to go and do casual work so that I can get cash for my family to have food and cash to spend including paying for the hired motorcycle.