<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rosemary's Profile
Rosemary's family
Rosemary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rosemary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 45000 KES of the first lumpsum in buying a piece of land, bought 3 goats at 3000 KES, used 1000 KES to boost my business and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am at peace because I now have a place to build on my own compound because I already have a parcel of land.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
When I received my token payment, I spent 5500 KES on a mattress, I paid 2500 KES primary school fees for my children and I invested the remaining 2000 KES in dagaa business.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I receive my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will buy a land.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy a mattress, pay school fees for my children who are in primary school and inject more capital into my business. I will also use part of the transfers to buy a piece of land and establish my own homestead so that my children can have a place to call home.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having started a small business selling fish, this business has enabled me to pay school fees for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to buy a piece of land where I can establish my own homestead. I currently reside at a relatives home and this means my children do not have as much freedom as I would like.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am selling my fish at the market, the atmosphere is usually very lively as customers and sellers haggle over prices and others generally chat and have fun.