GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Cyrus's Profile
Cyrus's family
Cyrus
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
21
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($442 USD)
access_time 29 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My new goal is to build a better house and buy my own motorcycle. I ride a motorcycle to earn income that helps me sustain my young family. Getting my own motorcycle will ensure that we have more income as a family and we will be able to better our living standards with it. I plan to use proceeds from fish farming and poultry to make this happen. Looking forward to seeing this dream come to reality.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly did well by enrolling everyone without any form of biasness. This ensured that everyone who deserved the money actually got to receive the money and was able to put it into good use.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used KES 32000 to buy a dairy cow and used the remaining amount to buy household furniture and my own clothes. I chose to buy a dairy cow since for a long time we have had to buy milk and the amount of money that we normally spend on milk is way too high. Getting a dairy cow means that I will be able to have extra income through sale of milk and with this I will be able to easily make ends meet too.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($499 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer I felt so happy. I remember it was around 9:30 am. When I heard a ringtone message from my phone. I was on my farm cultivating. I stopped and check out the message. I couldn't believe my eyes, it was a message confirming that I have received money from GiveDirectly. I felt so happy and immediately rushed home to inform my family members. They all celebrated the good news. I went to withdrew the money the same day and planned on how to spent it.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have bought two heifers. I used to buy milk daily and this was so costly for me. I am a motorcycle taxi rider and the amount of money that I get daily is so small. I was not in a position to save some to buy a dairy cow. I had always wished to buy it was not possible due to the recurrent needs at home. When I received the transfer from GiveDirectly I felt so happy and overwhelmed with joy. Currently I have two heifers. I know I won't be buying milk in the next few months since the will have reproduced. When I get married my children would be in a position to get milk daily. I will earn a living by selling the surplus milk at the market. This is the best investment since the rate of return is high. I am so happy because GiveDirectly has enabled me to fulfilled my dreams.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the money I received from GiveDirectly on purchasing two heifers at a cost of KES 47,000. This will enable me to cut the daily cost of buying milk when they reproduced in the next few months. I bought spare parts and repaired my motorcycle. I am a motorcycle taxi rider and I had always wished to repair my motorcycle. This was a great opportunity for me.The rest of the money I bought food and clothes for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have been employed as a motorcycle rider and on my daily income I have to pay the owner before spending for myself, this always makes me to even remain with nothing to sustain myself. Receiving this money means I will buy mine be able to work for myself. Besides this I have a dream to be a poultry farmer since I will be using my motorbike to transport eggs and also when carrying feeds. I intend to use 500 dollars to buy a second hand motorcycle and spend another 500 dollars to start the project.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My best part of the day is in the evening, that is the time I relax from my casual job of being a rider, and I am able to plan for tomorrow.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I leave alone and always cook and do everything for myself, since I am a motorcycle rider and I work for someone, usually I spend barely everything for food and clothing, I have always been looking forward to have my own motorbike that I can use to do other things besides ferrying people and through that I can earn and safe an extra coin.