GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Sidi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES
access_time 4 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My dream has always been to generate a second source of income to support myself and my kids. Setting up a poultry business at Ganze, selling local breed cocks for $8 a piece. These local breeds are less expensive to maintain, and more resilient to diseases.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
To think that for years I had slept without a mattress, all through my adult hood, then you understand the impact the funds had. The fact that I finally could buy myself a soft place to rest, meant that thanks to GiveDirectly,I was able to live out my dream. GiveDirectly excel at allowing people to maintain their dignity even through the shame of having to accept assistance. I ask them to be blessed and continue to help millions more, as they have in our village.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am an active part of a merry-go-round saving scheme and part of the funds from GiveDirectly were quickly diverted towards honouring that obligation. I further bought myself a mattress and a metal box for storage purposes. Stocking up food in the house was a priority as well, and I quickly ticked that off the to-do list. I had fallen ill in August of 2022, rendering me incapable of going to work, hence the transfers were used to cover my medical expenses. I had been previously tilling the 7acre plot of land, growing mangoes, coconuts,maize etc for domestic use. The other huge chunk of the funds went towards paying school fees for my children. I have 7 kids. My eldest is in college at Kilifi Polytechnic,studying construction. We pay $40 per month for his tuition. The 2nd born is joining junior secondary at Silala Primary this year. The 3rd borns' tuition is $13 per term at Viluake Primary, while the 4th and 5th born go to the same school and need $12 each per term in tuition. My 6th and 7th were in the same school, but had to drop out due to funds. It's evident to see, from my narration, that the funds from GiveDirectly were a much needed salvation from the struggles that have been curbing my family and I. We are eternally greatful.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received my first transfer from GiveDirectly while I was bedridden in hospital. I had fell ill and had to be admitted in hospital. We had already used a lot of money to seek medical attention and when we received the transfer, It brought a lot of relief for us. My daughter was in possession of my phone and she is the one who informed me that we had received the money from GiveDirectly. I was later released from hospital where I went home feeling very happy and shared the good news with my husband. There was so much relief on my end that I even felt better from my ailment.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the investments that I have made so far with the money. I feel so much happy and my journey towards healing is okay. . I feel so happy and on a journey towards healing. I li
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $150 to pay school fees for my children and used another $100 to buy food for my family. I saved the remaining amount of $250 where I am planning to buy goats for keeping and start a new business that will help me sustain the needs of my family. I am a mother of seven children and I normally rely on quarying to earn income that helps me sustain the needs of my family. My husband does small scale farming which provides him with very little to help meet the needs of the family. It is for this reason that we invested the money that we had in livestock and some saved with an aim of starting my own business. These investments shall make our lives much easier than it is right nowmaining amount of 10000 to buy food for family. I plan to buy goats and chicken and also start a small business. I am a mother of seven children and I normally rely on quarying to make
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means restoring dignity and safety for my family. I have a family of seven children whom we share the same single roomed house. Three are above eighteen years and according to the African culture, we are not supposed to share the same room. People in the village especially my neighbors see me as a failure because I cannot afford better shelter for my children. However, due to lack of enough money, building a bigger one has remained to be a dream. I work in quarry where I earn a daily stipend of KES 400. This is not enough to meet some of the basic needs because all I get is solely used for food. My number one goal is to build a two bedroom house which will cost KES 60000. I will then use the remaining amount to start a business.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Last month, my three children who are currently in college were sent back home due to lack of school fees. Fortunately I got a buyer who was willing to buy a piece of my land worth KES 40000. This was like a miracle to me because I was able to clear the debts and have some for food. This was the happiest moment ever for me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of a stable source of income has been the main challenge facing my family. Imagine having such a big family of seven children who need to eat and get basic education without any source of income! This is what has troubled my mind on a daily basis. I work in a quarry where I get a daily stipend of KES 400. With the current inflation rate of basic commodities, this is only enough for food. Consequently, this has made my children to be out of school more often due to lack of school fees. I feel sad when they are sent back home but due to the financial challenges, I have become helpless. I intend to fix this by using KES 30000 to purchase a machine cut that I will use to make bricks in the quarry. This will be a financial breakthrough for my family because in a day I will be able to earn KES 1000.