chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Brian's Profile
Brian's family
Brian
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other (works for others)
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Brian's next check-in.
 
12th Payment
Transfer Amount
3997 KES ($39 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Before I got enrolled into the program, I could not manage to make any savings because my earnings from the casual jobs that I mostly depended on were very little and barely enough to cater to my personal needs. With the transfers supplementing my monthly income, I have been able to comfortably pay my bills in time, buy my provisions and make some savings each month which may later enable me to venture into a business that can increase my overall income and eventually a better lifestyle.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I have been working part-time as a water vendor and always idle most of the time that I am not working because we work in shifts to allow more youth an opportunity to get some little money, according to my employer. With a lot of time in my hands, I feel that I should engage in something else to generate extra income and it needs to be something I am passionate about such as video gaming. I have thought of opening a video gaming station around my area of residence because most residents here who are mostly idle like passing time in such kinds of places, but the only challenge is raising the amount required to buy the necessary equipment. I have however started saving some little money each month and I hope that I will manage to buy some of them before the end of this project.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent most of the money I recently received to pay my rent and electricity bill for the month. I had not managed to save any money from my job to help me with the payments of these bills as I usually do, therefore, had no otherwise but to use most of my transfer to take care of them. I then saved the rest of the money in my M-shwari account.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($48 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am a fruit vendor along the streets. I am happy this can make me at least KES 500 a day. With the profits, I am able to buy more stock and also cater for my basic needs like paying house rent, which back then, I could stay for months without settling due to inadequate finances. I am glad I can also plan for my finances to meet all my basic needs, something that could not happen before.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
Recently I joined a driving college through the small savings that I had in my account. I am vending fruits on the streets and sometimes survive on manual jobs and now my goal is to complete the driving course so that I may acquire new skills that will enable me to get employed as a driver for more income, alongside my fruit vending business.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a portion of my most recent transfer shopping for my household and sent part of it to my parents. I gave them 1000, for their upkeep. I spent KES 2000 to cover for travel expenses as I had gone to visit them upcountry too. I spent the remaining to cater for my own personal expenses especially the basic needs.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
5000 KES ($50 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to buy a motorcycle and venture into motorcycle business. This be a source of income to meet my basic needs and I will no longer do casual jobs as I do now . Currently, I depend on casual jobs and the money I get is little and could not meet all my basic needs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I can now pay rent in time unlike in the past when my landlord would lock my house when I did not get money to pay rent. I also have enough food in my house since I used part of my transfers to buy enough food which will last until I get my next transfer. I have also managed to save the income I get from casual jobs unlike in the past when all the money I got could only cater for food.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used my most recent transfer to pay rent and electricity bill since I received the money at a time when I had not paid the Land lord. I also bought food and save the remaining amount since I am planning to buy a motorcycle in future.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was so happy when I received my transfer. I knew that I will no longer struggle to pay rent and buy food as I used to do before I received my transfers since I will be getting money every month from Give Directly.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I prioritize like that because rent has been a challenge to me. The kind of work am doing sometimes it's not easy to save enough for house rent because I get small income so with this money I will be able to pay part of my monthly rent so that I can have piece of mind. Secondly, I will use this money to start a business of clothes and shoes so that I can have a stable income to sustain myself and my life can change for the better. Lastly, I will use some of the money to buy food and other household shopping that I have not been able to afford frequently. This will also help me to help others people who need my support.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is not being able to pay my house rent because it means my landlord will come and close my door and I wont have any other place that I can go to and spend my night. I prefer even going without food but I have paid my house rent to have piece of mind. Secondly, my worry is not being in good terms with people. All of us needs friends to survive and move from one stage to another and friends helps people grow. Lastly, I don't like having debts because it means someone will be bothering me every time and I wont have my space. Having debts also makes one not to move from one stage to another.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be a successful and respected business person who can even supply clothes to retail sellers. When I have my own business I will be able to have a stable income and also support other needy people around me including my family members.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
In the morning once I wake up I prepare tea when I have the money. I take tea then leave for work up-to 4pm in the evening. After that I go home and during my resting time I watch movies then later I go buy supper then cook, eat and later go to bed.