chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Syprose's Profile
Syprose's family
Syprose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
41
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Syprose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a sofaset at 12,000 KES, one wooden table at 3,000 KES, gave a contribution of 20,000 KES to my son in college to buy a laptop, paid 5,000 KES school fee for my daughter in high school, bought 10 bags of cement at 7,000 KES then used the rest on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
my family is no longer sitting and eating on the ground as before because I now have a table and nice seats.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying mattress 3900 KES, 1 sack of maize 2800 KES, 1500 KES sent my child pocket money and used balance on daily meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend it on clearing school fees , buy a cow and build a kitchen .
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay fees for my son who is in university and my daughter who is in high school. If any funds remain then I will repair my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having made sisal ropes and after selling them used the money to educate my children, one who is in university and another one who is in high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income, I make a living by selling sisal ropes but the money I get is barely enough to pay school fees for my children and provide my family with basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am having my lunch, I always feel very happy whenever I am eating.