chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Faith's Profile
Faith's family
Faith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
23
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($512 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Having started my own saloon business has made my life to be totally different. Previously, I was employed at the closest saloon and the commissions on a daily basis was little to support me in terms of providing for my family. GiveDirectly, transformed everything since I used the money to put up my own saloon business which is now running smoothly and the profits helps me meet my needs with ease. In addition, I purchased a pair of oxen to aid in farming. Having these pair to me is more effective and economical compared to using hoes which I had before . I am certain when the time for cultivation comes I would be able to prepare my farm early enough and fully utilize the whole acreage within the shortest time possible. Therefore, I will also be assured of food security in my household after using the required inputs in the land preparation.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly did well by giving money which is not refundable and every beneficiaries had the freedom of using the money depending on the needs he or she had. This resulted to a massive improvements in the living standards of members in my village since everyone spent on what they lacked the most.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent part of my second transfers on buy some of the livestock which included a pair of oxen and two goats. These were the well thoughtful assets that I have been longing to keep for a long period of time and seeing them in my compound gives me a sense of satisfaction. I bought a bag of maize for my family's consumption and decent seats. The remaining amount I have saved in my Mpesa account.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($531 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am now a self-employed person. I had yearned to start my own business for so long but I had not been able to achieve this due to lack of finance. Having my own business will enable me to help my spouse to cater to some of our needs. Also, I will be able to invest more part of my income. I thank God for GiveDirectly since the organization has helped me to achieve my hearts wish.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I realized that I had an unread message at around 5.30 am when I wanted to use my phone's torch. When I read its content, my heart was filled with happiness. I gave thanks to God for the blessings that had just come in. This money marked a new beginning in my life as I knew that I would use it to achieve so many things.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfers to buy some building materials to use in building a house for my family. Also, I paid a mason the full cost for this work. I settled on this so that my children would have their own separate house when they grow up. Previously, I had been employed by one of my friends as a hairdresser in her salon. As a way of making myself self-employed, I opened a salon in our nearest shopping centers. I used some of this money to buy some requirements which were needed for the start of this work. I used the remaining amount to buy a heifer. I decided to buy it so that I will be relieved of the cost of buying milk daily when it reproduces.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My husband is a car mechanic in Sotik town, about 50 kilometers away from our home. Our greatest ambition has been to live next to his business proximity. Therefore receiving this money will enable us purchase a 0.2 acre piece of land for efficiency and an effort to curtail extra costs spent on transport everyday. Thanks to GiveDirectly, our goal is in the offing now more than ever.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am a trained hairdresser and this being a rural set up, I often get client calls to go and make hair at their homes. It usually happens in the morning till noon and since it is a skill am overly passionate about, this is the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
When I got married here about six months ago I was met with culture shock and a fair share of environmental adversity, especially the lack of clean and safe water for drinking. Having lived in my parents' home that had clean tapped water all my life, it has been so hard to settle into my new matrimonial home without the same. I have been forced to walk several kilometers in search of clean water. But in most days, I am forced to conform and persevere through the dirty condition of stagnant pond water in my new environment. This is the biggest hardship I always face. My constant and incessant worry is that my small child and I are going to be exposed to waterborne diseases.