chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kashutu's Profile
Kashutu's family
Kashutu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 10 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life has improved since I received the transfers and I am glad through the money I manged to purchase livestock and now I have investment for the future.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, Give Directly does well by giving cash to people and let them decide on how to spend it. Through the cash most people managed to improve their lives. On the other hand they are doing everything right and they do not need to improve on anything.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I bought a cow and goats with part of the recent transfer for a rearing as away of investment. Livestocks are sources of income because in the future after they have given birth I can sell the young ones in order to raise money incases of urgent need. Part of the money I spent on my bedding in order to replace thwvold worn out ones.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received an Mpesa message in my phone early in the morning. When I checked who the sender was, I realized it was from GiveDirectly. I had received my first transfer from them as they had promised us. I felt happy and rejoiced with my family for this financial support.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now own livestock which include goats and a cow. To me, these livestock are the only assets that I own. Through them, I am expecting to educate my children to reach their educational goals. I am expecting them to multiply and have many of them. I can readily sell the offspring to pay for my children's fees. Apart from raising fees for my children, I will also be benefiting from the milk that the cow will be producing. I will sell the surplus and earn an income.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a bigger portion of my first transfer on buying a cow and two goats. Its been my desire to at least own these livestock because the casual jobs I do alone may not be enough to raise fees for my children. Having them is a saving because I will readily sell the offspring as they reproduce and increase in number. Through them , I am expecting to educate my children who are still in lower levels of education. I also bought a new mattress and replaced the old beddings I have been using. I spent the remaining amount to buy foodstuffs and clothing for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a mother of nine children, we depend on the casual labor of charcoal vending to get our daily meal. The income we get per month is not adequate to meet all our daily needs. It forces us to share a one-roomed house with my 6 children, the other 3 children are accommodated by our neighbors. I feel ashamed and this has lowered my dignity. When I receive my transfers I will use 50,000 shillings to build two houses, one will be mine and the other one for my children, this will enable me to have secrecy with my husband. I will also use 40,000 shillings to clear school fees for my 4 children. The remaining amount will be used to buy food for the family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
As a charcoal vendor, I usually spend my day selling charcoal. I move around our nearby market carrying the sack on my head. It becomes tedious because sometimes I walk in the whole day. The evening is the happiest part of my day because this is the the time I rest and sharing meals with my 9 children from the income I get.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
We work as charcoal vendors with my husband, My husband is having a small bicycle which he carries the charcoal sacks and move to our nearby town to sell the charcoal. We get an income of 8,000 shillings per month which is not enough to build a spacious house for the family as well as clearing the school fees dept. However, financial problems become the biggest hardship I have faced in my life.