GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Alice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
39
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Alice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of the money in catering for the cost of building iron roof house and used 10000 KES in paying college fee for my son.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved and I'm at peace because previously I had a squeezed house that couldn't fit my family but now I have a larger house that fits the whole of my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress at 4000 KES, a sheep at 2500 KES and invested the remaining amount in maize farming.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will build main house of a round 30 iron sheets and buy a heifer.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to rebuild my house which is about to fall down,I will also take my daughter to college and pay fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I am taking my children to school and it will help them in future.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is school fees since I have no job and am the only person my children are depending on.I only sell fish and I don't make much.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am with my children in the evening.