GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Saumu's Profile
Saumu's family
Saumu
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Saumu's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 15 days ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My family size has now grown to seven this year and we are all living in a one-room house with a grass roof. The roof leaks whenever it rains and also allows wind. One of my children has suffered pneumonia as a result of that. Also during rain season I spend sleepless nights die to the leakage of the roof. The house is not spacious for the family and lacks privacy. I will buy 30 pieces of iron sheets at a cost of $100 each, buy 200 poles for making the walls at a cost of $15 each, use $ 200 to pay labor and buy other building materials to build a three-room house. Currently, I do not want visitors due to a lack of accommodation space. I will also use $ 300 to pay school fees for my three children who are schooling at primary level. Each has school fees balance of $100. I am happy for the program because soon my respect will be restored.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My family has been growing big time to time. This year in May I was happy to receive a baby girl adding the family size to seven from six. What Gives me happiness is the manner in which I received the baby. Used to have complications whenever giving but but to this one, I did not have any complications and I delivered the baby while I was alone at home. My mother-in-law came some hours later and found me with the baby already. I really felt happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have a family of seven and we all depend on my husband for survival. He works as a gardener at Malindi earning $50 per month. The family requires 60 bales of maize flour per month for us to have three meals per day. This cost $120 and the husband's income is only $50. I am just a housewife doing domestic chores. I normally budget with have I have thus the family takes one meal per day only and sometimes goes without food the whole day. My children have grown weak and this has health implications. Lack of food is the challenge I am facing in life.