chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
35
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent part of my third transfer on finishing up the construction work which I had started using the second transfer. I am glad that I live in a spacious house which I nolonger view as a kitchen due to its small size. I also paid school fees for my sister in high school who I had been supporting and bought food that I also shared with the people who were constructing my house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($487 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my entire second transfer to buy building materials (iron sheets, poles, nails, windows and doors) which I used to build a three roomed house in my own compound. I had lived in my own compound for three years in a small shark and the few materials I had acquired were still not enough.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved since I live in a spacious house in my own compound.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spend my first transfer on buying 10 pieces iron sheets and 3 kg of building nails.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on constructing a house of 32 pieces iron sheets since I have a small house of 10 pieces iron sheet.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on paying dowry for my wife, build another house and lastly start a small business to help with income generation.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of was few years back when I planted some traditional vegetables which I later sold and bought some three livestock that I'm raising.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship in my life is on making ends meet and paying school fees for my children,this is because the casual jobs I depend on are no longer readily available making life very difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I'm grazing my livestock after spending better part of the day doing casual jobs.