GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Priscillar's Profile
Priscillar's family
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($535 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am grateful to GiveDirectly because I now l have a new house to live in with my family since I was previously living in a small house which was in a very bad state with no hopes of upgrading to a better one. Apart from the house, I also have a pair of oxen that will be helping me in doing my farming timely and effectively. I couldn't have acquired this pair had it not been the financial help from GiveDirectly. I will no longer be hiring the ploughing services like I used to do during planting season.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has done well in choosing us who are less fortunate and needy. Since we couldn't even afford the very simple basic needs such as foodstuffs and shelter. I do not see anything that GiveDirectly does not do well.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of my second transfer on buying building materials that include iron sheets, building poles and timber in order to construct a new house for my family. My previous house was grass thatched and furthermore, it was on a very bad state. It was almost collapsing. I didn't have enough resources to build a new one. I am grateful to GiveDirectly because I am now proudly living in my new house. I also spent KES 8000 to purchase an ox-plough to help me in ploughing my farm with the pair of oxen that I also own through this financial help. I spent the remaining amount to buy some household items and buying foodstuffs.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have my own cattle. I know that this is an investment for me. There are no casual jobs in our area because of the climatic condition. Our region is normally dry therefore most of the manual jobs that can be done from the farm are no longer available. Cattle rearing is the most efficient source of livelihood since we can easily sell milk or their calves and take care of our needs. I am grateful that I was not left out of the program.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very happy the moment I received the transfer. I stayed calm and called my husband who had already gone to work. He was also excited but kept calm and collected. He told me to stay calm as well until he comes home so that we could discuss the right way to spend the money.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of my first transfer on purchasing two bulls and a dairy cow. I also bought two goats. I know that when an emergency arises, I can sell the young ones of the cows and goats once they have reproduced and use the money to take care of the situation. The bulls will help me in ploughing my parcel of land. I can also hire the bull to plough other people's farms too so that I can get money to increase more cattle because I love rearing them. The remaining amount was spent on clearing last year's school fees balance for my five children. I feel relieved since I don't know where I could have gotten the money to clear the amount.
access_time over 5 years ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money will not only provide economic stability for my family,it will also go along way in uplifting our social status in the society. For a long time,my family has had to contend with living under mockery from family and friends for not being able to afford building a decent shelter to live in nor owning any livestock which is considered as a source of prestige in our community. The house that I currently own is too small to fit my seven children and I under one roof and as a result, they are normally forced to seek shelter from relatives who at times feel like their presence is an intrusion and end up turning them away. With this money,I will set up a fruit selling business at Bamba centre to continously generate income for my family and also buy two oxen and an ox plough for farming and a few goats for rearing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I spend the better part of my morning until noon out in the farm tending to my crops. I return home around afternoon and I manage to share lunch with my children. Since I am normally very tired, I take opportunity of the scorching afternoon sun to rest with my children under the shade of our only tree as we narrate stories to each other. Just spending time with my children and seeing them happy as the young ones play and sing their childish songs makes afternoon hours to be the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial instability is the biggest hardship that I face in life.I do not have any job and my husband's income from vending water in Mombasa rarely generates enough to cater for all our needs. We have not been able to build a decent shelter to boost of and come night fall,my children keep shifting from house to house seeking for a place to lay. When they miss, the eight of us,are all forced to crumble in our small house. Being that six out of the seven happen to be all men in their adolescent years,it feels so embarrassing to be sharing the same small structure with them since everyone's privacy tends to be interfered with.