GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jocintor's Profile
Jocintor's family
Jocintor
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
48
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on plastering my house.I also paid college fees for my child and paid fees for my children.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of expanding my business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a daily income from my business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 10000 kshs to start a small scale business, l spend 5000 kshs to pay school fees, l also spend the money to buy steel door at 7000 kshs, 2 windows at 5000 kshs, 7 bags of cement at 7500 kshs, sand 3500 kshs , l also spend 4500 kshs to pay labour.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
There is a big difference in my life now because l have something that can give me income daily since l started a small scale business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 5,000 KES to pay my son's medical bills. I also paid my child's fee with a portion of the remaining amount while the rest I spent on family foodstuff.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to pay my two children in collage fee. I'm also planning to invest the rest in retail shop business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to start up a shop business where I can sell basic household commodities to the community and be able to meet the financial needs of my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled to provide for my family ever since my spouse's demise in the year 2007.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of proper source of income to meet the financial needs of my family. I have a child who is constantly in hospital due to sickle cell anemia and I can not afford to give him proper medical care due to lack of money.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live.