chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joseph's Profile
Joseph's family
Joseph
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
65
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joseph's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought half an acre of land 40,000 KES, paid 5,000 KES school fee for my son in high then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and bought 10 iron sheets at 7,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am not having so much stress as before due to my son's school fees.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 3,000 KES to pay my son in high school fee. Bought two goats with a portion of the remaining transfer while the rest I spent on family foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house with a larger portion of the transfer because my current house is too old and almost going down. I'm planning to use a portion of the remainig transfer to pay my high school son fee while the rest I'll use to find myself a wife. My wife passed on some years down the line and I haven't menaged to get one due to logistic issue as such, I find it valid to get one because opportunity has prevails itself and soon will have muscles to do it.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for two of my children in high school. I also plan to spend the transfer to buy foodstuffs for my family. I also plan to spend the transfer to start a business that would provide us with a source of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been able to build a house for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is when floods destroyed my crops during last harvest. I got a poor harvest and this has made us to be victims of hunger.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when am able to get food for my family. I sell firewood to earn a living and so if I manage to get profit in the evening, I feel very happy because I will use it to buy food.