GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
67
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hellen's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy 2 cows (30000), household utensils (10000), food (5000) and paid school fees (3000).
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have cows that will help me plough, get young ones and milk. The goat i bought has already given me a young one which later i can sell and take care of my other needs. I also acquired household utensils that i never had.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 6,000 KES to buy iron sheets which I'll use to build animal shade. Bought a she-goat at 2,000 KES. Bought my son in secondary school uniform. I also purchased some cooking utensils and family foodstuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because the current one is too old. I'm also planning to cement the floor of the house I'll build.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a sheep and a goat, I will spend part of the transfer to buy a cupboard and a water tank that I can use in harvesting water. I will also spend part of the transfer on buying blankets for myself and my family and the remaining amount I will spend on buying utensils like plates and spoons.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy a cow using cash that I got from my business of selling cereals.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is very low and getting cash is not easy for me as I am old hence feeding my family is a problem.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I wake up in the morning and I sweep my house so that I ensure that it is clean. This makes me happy as my home is always clean.