GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Sophy's Profile
Sophy's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Sophy's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my transfer to buy iron sheets KES 17900, a mattress KES 5000, boost my business KES 15600, utensils KES 4000, transport charges KES 2000, food KES 1800, 2 chicken KES 1400 and a goat KES 3500.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have acquired a lot of assets and i have a daily income from my barber shop.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6000 KES of my token payment on 10 iron sheets, 3500 KES on a mattress, and we used the remaining 1500 KES for buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
When I get my upcoming lumpsum payment, I will build a better house and buy a second hand motorcycle.
access_time over 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build iron roofed house because my house is leaking. Secondly l would wish to buy oxen to help us plough our farm to increase productivity. Finally l would like to open up a business to generate income to support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled to get food security which is basic in our lives.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper shelter since my is leaking.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after getting some work and earning some money to buy food for my family.