chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Nikanor's Profile
Nikanor's family
Nikanor
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Nikanor's next check-in.
 
8th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
My life is currently different from how it was before I started receiving my transfers. Initially, I used to stay in a grass-thatched house that used to leak whenever it rained. This is no longer the case as I have been able to build a stronger iron roofed house. I do not have to worry about the rains anymore.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
I am planning to buy household items. My house does not have furniture and some basic utensils. It has been my desire to have sofa seats and utensils in my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
I have been living in a grass-thatched house that used to leak whenever it rained. This caused discomfort especially when it rained at night, I was forced to change the position of my bed to avoid being rained on. I have been saving my previous transfers and upon receiving my recent transfer I added to the savings and bought building materials: iron sheet, timber, cement, and nails to help me in the construction of a better house that does not leak.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
Now that I have received my transfers, in the next six months I will have purchased a sofa seat, kitchen utensils, and a music system for the purpose of entertainment. This will bring a sense of liveliness in my household.
 
4th Payment
Transfer Amount
2280 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that l am now staying in a nice comfortable house where l do not need to worry when it is rain.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six month to come l will have started cattle farming.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Would l never received a transfer l would not have build iron roofed house, l could still be staying in thatched house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goal is to save and start cattle farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of proper housing has been the biggest harship I have. During rainny seasons, am usually forced to sleep in my brother's house since the roof of my house is delapilated and leaks too much.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Am more happiest in the evening after work while meeting with my siblings and recounting on how the day was and story telling on our past experiences
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I will save my transfers so as to enable me buy construction materials like cement and balast for renovating my house which is currently in a bad state. I will built a semi- permanent house since it last longer
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement was two years ago when I constructed my house. Though small in size, it has provided shelter for me and my family