chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Hosline's Profile
Hosline's family
Hosline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Hosline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I built a semi-permanent house of 40 iron sheets with 39725 KES and I invested the remaining 10000 KES in a food cafe.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am no longer living in a rental house, which used to be expensive for us since I have built my own house in courtesy of GD, which has enabled me save on recurrent expenditure-rent and invest in other areas of development to my household members like farming.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,500KES on buying seats, and 2,300KES on buying maize for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet ,timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to build a house because I am currently living in a rental house, assist my three siblings with school fee because my parents are jobless and use the remaining amount to boost my hotel business so as to increase my level of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have been the breadwinner to my family after my mother passed on. I have worked hard to ensure they eat and attend school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I lack money to build my own house. I want to be able to adopt my siblings but my house that I have rented is too small to accommodate them.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is the morning when I set off for work. This is because of the benefits that I realize through my hotel business.