GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Baraka's Profile
Baraka's family
Casual labor
Kenya Large Transfer
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53010 KES ($383 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Employment can sometimes be stressful, more so if you report to a harsh manager or whether the company is private. I am currently employed as an electrician for a private company, which earns me $200 a month. Although it sustains my family, this job is unreliable at times; therefore, I wish to be self-employed. Therefore, in the next year, I hope to use the profits from the grocery store my wife runs as well as my savings to expand this grocery business and, hence, earn the family of three an income. I will be happy to fully venture into this business since security is a quarantee, and I will thus be my own boss.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I do appreciate the initiative GiveDirectly has taken in poverty eradication by offering unconditional cash transfers. Previously, life had hit rock bottom for some people in the community for lack of finances since the casual jobs they used to depend on were poorly paying and all used to cater for food for their households. With the transfers, life has improved as families have acquired assets as well as income by diversifying their economic activities. I therefore never wish anything to change in their way of working since, as it stands, lives have changed.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Family comfort comes first. It was for this course that I spent $380 on constructing a 3-room iron-roofed house aside from the 2-room makuti-walled house that we used to live in with my family of three. With the Makuti house, it often leaks during rainy seasons, therefore exposing my family to pneumonia since the walls and floors dampen. In addition to this, I also spent $150 on opening up a grocery business for my wife, who has been a housewife for quite some time now. With this, I am hopeful that the income we earn from the business as well as the $200 I earn from my electrical job will go a long way toward meeting their needs, such as clothing and food.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($426 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
Around four o'clock I got a message on my phone while tending to my livestock in a pasture far from home. I went right over to see what kind of message it was. When checked, $550 was the first number that caught my attention. I focused more and noticed that I had gotten the first transfer that had been promised. I was thankful to have received such a large sum of money all at once. Because of the joy that engulfed my heart, I gradually moved the livestock to a close distance to my home. I looked at them as I stood near the house, waiting for the sun to set and take them home.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The most significant difference in my life is that, like the rest of the village, I own and live in a nice iron sheet-roofed house. I am happier and more at ease now that the congestion that was bothering me is gone. As I have converted the small house into a kitchen, I am very pleased to see how the iron sheet will remain clean from soot. Furthermore, unlike in the past when I had to work harder to make ends meet, I can now afford some food for my family every day.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I withdrew the money, I opted to build a spacious house. This is because the one I had was very small and congested as it was used for multi-purposes. Apart from being a house where my family and I sleep, it was also serving as a store and a kitchen. Therefore, I opted to construct a two-room mud-walled house. I spend $280 on the building materials and the contractor's labor charge was $60. Thereafter, I bought two goats for $60 so that I could add to the ones I already had to boost my investment. As of now, I am happy since I have a spacious house that accommodates my family of three. I am also delighted that I converted the small house into a kitchen and store. As a casual laborer, I saw it prudent to keep the remaining amount for the family's upkeep.
access_time 11 months ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I have a family of three members and we are living in a one-room house with a grass roof. During the rainy season, the house leaks very much. I work as a casual laborer at the nearby quary and my wife is just a housewife. I earn $100 per month which caters to food only. I will use $220 to buy 22 pieces of iron sheets, $150 to pay labor and use $150 to buy other building materials to build a two-room house. This will be spacious for the family and has privacy. I will also use $ 300 to buy ten goats as an investment. Currently, I do not have any investment. The family will use $200 for food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I work as a casual laborer at a nearby quarry. It has been two years now since I worked there. Since then the salary has been $100 per month. On December 2022, the salary was increased to $160.This increment brought happiness to me because I was able to buy enough food for my family during the festivals time. The whole of December my family has had three meals per day. That made me feel happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have a family of three and we are living in a one-room house with a grass roof. The house is not spacious and it leaks during rain seasons. The wind also affect the family thus I suffer flue every now and then. Lack of spacious and well-built house isn't he challenge I am currently facing in life. I work as a casual labour at the nearby quary earning approximately $100 per month which caters to food only. It is not sufficient to build a house for the family.