chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Hellen's Profile
Hellen's family
Hellen
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (works for others)
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I was previously employed by a food vendor where I earned a daily income that was too little to cater to my needs. What I made was only enough for my rent and foodstuff and barely anything else. While I was working there, I learnt how to make potato chips and crisps which inspired me to start my current business. My life has greatly changed because I can now make enough money to fully take care of all my needs and still be able to support my family.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am currently running a business on french fries which I sell by the road-side in an open area. This is not very healthy because of the dusty nature of the road which is the reason why I wish to rent an enclosed place to run the business. I have not succeeded in finding a better spot for the business yet, but as soon as I do, I will move and think of other food items that I can sell to increase my income.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
There were a lot of fun activities that came with the December Holidays in my family last year, courtesy of the transfers that I received. We had never celebrated Christmas as a family in a big way before in our family due to low income, so what we would do on such a day was just to ensure that we got at least a decent meal, usually one that consists of meat/chicken and rice/chapati which are rare dishes in our family. Things were a bit different this past Christmas season where I organized a huge party with lots of food and drinks which were enjoyed by friends and relatives. For the occasion, I ensured that my family members were glammed up in new clothes and shoes, all which I purchased with part of the transfers. I also decided to pay the transport charges for my family members who travelled to our rural home during the Holidays which also took a good amount of the transfers. When all had completed, I used some of the transfer to boost by french fries business by adding more potatoes then saved the rest of the money I had left.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
37152 KES ($361 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was in that, I run my own business. Before then, I could get 250 KES every day and this denied me the opportunity to even save. Most of the time, I ended up paying rent and food. That was it. Having the opportunity to work for myself courtesy of GiveDirectly's transfer makes me happy because I work under my rules and I will never be worried about looking for casual jobs again.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new plan is to expand my business. I want to give back to the community by creating a job opportunity for the youths in our community. This will only be possible if my business will prosper and this is why I am determined to grow it. In the future, I plan to operate a cafe and a motorcycle taxi.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a larger portion of my transfer on starting a business. I sell boiled eggs and fried potatoes. I am glad that it is doing well. This is way better than the casual jobs which was on and off and at the mercy of the employer. I am proud that I do not idle unlike before where I could sell for someone and told not to come for work some days. I also used some amount to pay for my child's hospital bill. I finally spent the rent on shopping, rent, and transport.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($193 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am planning to save adequate money that will enable me to open a food kiosk business on the remaining transfer. To me, this will be a better source of income as compared to the casual cleaning work that I do daily. This is the goal that I have right now because this will enable me to work on my own and be able to generate my income.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The transfer enabled me to clear my house rent arrears that had accumulated to KES 10000 which I was not able to clear in time due to the financial challenges I was going through then. GiveDiretly came in handy to sort out this problem for me and it gave me so much joy to learn that I was finally going to be at peace with my landlord. It also provided me with an opportunity to plan on how best I am going to utilize my transfers to make more benefitting investments.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent KES 10000 to pay for my house rent arrears that had accumulated over some months. I was not able to pay the rent in time due to little income that I earned from my small jobs. I am extremely grateful to GiveDirectly for coming in handy to help me clear the outstanding bills. I am now at peace with my landlord and I am looking forward to doing other valuable investments that will raise the living standards of my family. I also spent KES 5000 to clear school fees for my sister who is in a local day school. This has seen her study in school this term uninterrupted contrary to the norm where she has always been on and off school. The remaining amount was used to buy the basic household needs such as food and clothing for the family.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
I was awoken by a message notification early that morning. On checking to confirm, it was a message that I had been anxiously waiting for; I had finally received my KES 20000 from GiveDirectly. I felt so happy. From then on, I hardly had a wink. It was so fulfilling for me to know that I was finally going to be able to clear outstanding rent and be at peace with my landlord one more time.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I would want to open a new business of selling food. I have been employed in Easleigh in a food kiosk and I know the profit that comes with it. I am very optimistic in future I will have my own hotel in Mlango kubwa. The population is high, providing a ready market for my business and I therefore, hope to get alot of profit in return. Secondly, I would want to save my money in future to help plan my business. This will enable my business to expand and maximize the profit. Thirdly, I will help my mother in educating my two siblings who are in highschool and primary school respectively.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is achieving my ambitions because of lack of a stable source of income. The lifestyle condition of this vulnerable children in our society is wanting. I will be unable to sustain their daily needs especially food, shelter and clothing. Some of them sleep out in the cold and scavenging for food that makes them prone to diseases. Seeking medical attention is a problem to them and they may succumb to death because they don't have someone to look after them.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition is to start a children home. I have a passion of helping the less fortunate in the society. I would want them to have a place they can call home. I will be able to provide them with food, shelter, clothing and education. Many of them have been neglected in the society leading them to spend nights in cold. Some fall sick and cannot access good medication, therefore, succumbing to death. Opening up a home will help them achieve their goals, open up their minds and become productive people in our society.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
On my usual day I wake up very early in the morning at 5:30am. Take bath, prepare breakfast for my son and take him in a nearby day care as I leave for work. I arrive at my workplace at 7:30am in Eastleigh, where I am employed in a hotel as a waitress. I work until 5:00pm in the evening then I return back home. I pick my son from school, bond with him and know how his day was. I prepare for supper then I retire to bed after a long day of work. In my free time, I like to relax at home with my son or wash clothes or watch movies or sometimes go to church or have a day out with my son.