chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Charles's Profile
Charles's family
Charles
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
47900 KES ($465 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most of my third transfer on sand, cement, ballast and murram which I used to plaster the house I had previously built with the second transfer. The remaining amount, I spent on sofa set since I did not have decent seats in my house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($485 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my second transfer, I extended my main house from 2-3 rooms. I am very glad that my children currently have a place to sleep more comfortably.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my household members live a healthier life. We have experienced no cases of pneumoconiosis since we plastered our main house and eradicated dust.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($97 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying sand that I'll use to renovate my house
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer, I was very happy. I've been waiting for the transfer eagerly hence receiving it was a dream come true. Thanks to GD.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on cementing the floor of my house and acquiring some furniture, secondly I intend to buy two cows to keep and lastly the remaining balance I will use to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of is having been able to build my current house, I used to stay in a thatched roofed house which would leak during rainy seasons.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I'm facing currently is on making ends meet,my construction work is temporary and it is the only source of income we have.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I visit my work place with hopes of getting some little money to fend for my family.I find joy when my family does not sleep hungry.