GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
47900 KES ($473 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of my third transfer on construction of a new house to replace the old and weak one that I had before which had been bitten all over by termites. I am so glad that I currently live in a very good and strong house that has brought me much peace of mind and happiness in life. Thanks a lot to the organization.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying building materials (iron-sheets, a steel door, building timber, two steel windows) and spent the rest on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I will soon be living in a better and more spacious house and better secured because my door will be a steel door and not a wooden door like the one am in at the moment.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($97 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying steel windows and a door to fix at my house as previously I was using polythene to cover the door and the window parts.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was very happy when I received the transfer.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on expanding my current house into a more spacious one,I will also use part of it to pay school fees for my two children in secondary school and lastly buy one cow to raise.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of was when I built my current house, from my savings in a local women group around I was able to build this house.I used to live in a very small house back then.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I'm facing currently is on paying school fees for my children in secondary school , being a widow makes it even harder since I'm the sole provider.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I'm working in my farm.I grow maize,beans and groundnuts.