GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Anna's Profile
Anna's family
Anna
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
51
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Anna's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent 10000 kshs to pay school fees for child in secondary school, l pay debt of 8000 kshs, the remaining balance l spent to build kitchen.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was being rain on when l was cooking out side but now l have some where to shelter in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4,000 KES on farming expenses (groundnuts), 2,000 KES on buying a bag of dry maize and 3,000 KES on paying school fees ( secondary school) and the rest on buying food in the house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy cement to plaster my house and strengthen the walls and floor, am also planning to construct a kitchen and also buy a cow and poultry to get milk and manure for my farm.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children who are in primary and secondary schools. I will also buy timber, cement, sand and nails which I will use to build a better external kitchen and plaster my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having taken care of my son from nursery school up to today. My spouse died and left me with the boy when he was very young but I have struggled and brought him up, in fact he recently got a spouse in the year 2009.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees and provide my son with a small stipend. My other children are in schools and if I do not pay their fees on time they may drop out of school, my son also lacks a sustainable source of income and I usually have to chip in and assist his family financially.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am relaxing after working all day. I usually have to work all day and whenever I manage to buy food for my family it makes them very happy which in turn makes me also very happy.